National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) claims shown on Community Risk pages

Learn about the historic flood claims included in Community Risk and where this data comes from.  

Flood claims come from the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and are shown on Community Risk pages. Historical claims are not used to determine a Community’s Risk, but they are included to provide historical context on flood risk in an area. 


Where do NFIP claims come from? 

NFIP claims come from the federal program called National Flood Insurance Program managed by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The NFIP is a voluntary program in which participating communities adopt and enforce minimum floodplain management regulations that limit development in the FEMA-defined 1% annual chance floodplain. In exchange, the federal government makes flood insurance available to all residents in that community. 

The NFIP attempts to cover the cost of flood insurance claims made by policyholders in the event of flood disasters. All NFIP claims dating back to 1970 are included in local risk to provide historical context on an area’s flood risk. 


Which historic flood claims are not included?

Flood insurance is available primarily from the federally-run National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), though some private insurers also offer coverage. 

All historic flood claims made to FEMA 1970 are included. Because some property owners have private flood insurance, any historical claims made to private insurance companies are not included in local risk.


Learn more

Find out more about the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)

What data sources are used to determine Community Risk ratings?

How are Community Risk rankings determined? 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful